Sales Snapshot – meet Julia from Berlin

IMG_4052

During my two years at Groupon my career has advanced considerably: you really learn your craft here and can become a top-class sales person, so I feel I’m in good shape to progress my career even more!

Julia Schiller – Inside Sales Consultant Berlin, Germany

How long have you been with Groupon and what area of the business do you work in? 

I joined Groupon two years ago as an Inside Sales Consult in Berlin. Initially, I worked on new business acquisition or ‘hunting’ in the East of Germany. Now though, I am responsible for two markets in Stuttgart and Frankfurt. I really love the process of finding new potential partners and working to convince them to come onboard the platform. The best part of the job is when you launch a deal and it nearly sells out entirely on the first day!

What attracted you to Groupon and was this your first sales role?

Before applying for Groupon, I hadn’t heard that much about it to be honest, but when I saw the job advertisement and then had my interview in Berlin, I knew I definitely wanted to work here! Since I finished my studies I have always worked in sales but in my previous roles I only offered one product. Groupon, though, has the whole package where I get the chance to get to learn about all kind of industries and sell all kinds of products and services. The types of industries I work on vary each day too – for instance, some days I’ll spend my time contacting new beauty partners and other days my focus is more restaurants or leisure activities.

Tell us a bit about your average day – if such a thing exists!

Much of my days revolves around actively researching and contacting – ‘hunting’ – new potential partners via telephone, but in reality there is no such thing as an ‘average day’ with Groupon. One day I could be working solely on new business and the next I’ll be designing new deals for my existing merchants – it changes! Groupon is great for giving you your own targets but still allowing you to be your own boss and work in a way that suits you.

Do you feel you have progressed and developed in your career since coming to Groupon? 

During my two years at Groupon my career has advanced considerably: you really learn your craft here and can become a top-class sales person, so I feel I’m in good shape to progress my career even more!

Would you recommend working at Groupon to a friend?

Yes – actually I already did! I  recommended Groupon to a friend of mine and she is coming up on her 1-year anniversary here! Groupon is full of energetic, talented people and it’s a great place to learn and develop. Importantly though, my colleagues are more than just co-workers; I spent more time with them than I ever did at any job before.

Leave a Reply

