This Intern Life

Naganthran 3

“It’s a very cool environment!” Meet Naganthran, Intern on our Data Analytics & Business Intelligence Team in Dublin. He loves his job and does his best not to distract others!

Hi, Naganthran

YOU’RE COMPLETING an INTERNSHIP HERE AT GROUPON, WHAT did you study in college? 

I did my masters in Data Analytics at National college of Ireland. I was always curious about how big data works in an actual industry or a company. While doing my thesis at college I attended an interview at Groupon for the position of Data Analytics intern. I was super excited about it because I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to explore my knowledge and also gain immense knowledge regarding big data and how organisations thrive on it.

Luckily, I was offered an internship at Groupon soon after I completed my final thesis at college.

TELL US A BIT ABOUT THE TYPE OF INTERNSHIP YOU’RE ON AT GROUPON.

I work as a Data Analytics and BI Engineer intern. It is good to know that all parts of my work are being taken into consideration and pushed into production if necessary. I feel like I am treated as a full time employee, which is great. People around me are always happy to help me with things I do not understand or in areas where I need improvement.

WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO GO FOR AN INTERNSHIP HERE?

I had heard about Groupon’s working environment before. People say it is one of the best places to work. In the internship spec it said that “Groupon would not just allow the interns use the sandbox and learn stuff, but it would also provide real time experience with the official Groupon tools that all employees use”. Not every company would support an intern as Groupon does. I wanted to experience that and now I have acknowledged that it’s all true.

WHAT DOES A TYPICAL DAY, IF SUCH A THING EXISTS, LOOK LIKE FOR YOU?

A typical day at Groupon is simply awesome. As long as I do my assigned work nobody asks me a single question. It is all about freedom in Groupon. If I do my work without any issues, I can enjoy my freedom as much as I want (As long as I do not distract others!).

It’s a very cool environment. 

IS THE REALITY OF YOUR WORK HERE DIFFERENT IN ANY WAY TO WHAT YOU EXPECTED?

Not at all, it is actually much better than I expected.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE ABOUT WORKING HERE?

I love everything about it here. The vibe around the office is what makes people love Groupon. The ‘All Hands’ meeting on Wednesday is the best part as it informs us about all the latest updates in the office and it allows me mix and talk with coworkers who I have not yet met.

WOULD YOU RECOMMEND AN INTERNSHIP HERE?

Of course. I would strongly recommend an internship here. Consider yourself to be lucky if you get an internship here 🙂

FINALLY – ARE YOU ENJOYING YOURSELF?

Definitely. I love being at Groupon. I consider it a great opportunity. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

