This Intern Life

Wesley 2

•Wesley Fung•

Intern, Marketing Services Team

Hi, Wesley!
SO, YOU’RE COMPLETING YOUR COLLEGE INTERNSHIP HERE AT GROUPON. WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY STUDYING IN COLLEGE?

I am currently studying Computer Science.

TELL US A BIT ABOUT THE TYPE OF INTERNSHIP YOU’RE ON AT GROUPON.

I am part of the Marketing Services team, and I’m currently developing a dashboard for Groupon.

WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO GO FOR AN INTERNSHIP HERE?

There was a lot of choice when it came to picking which internships to apply for, ranging from AOL, Hubspot, to Mastercard and Deloitte. One of the reasons why I chose to apply for the internship here at Groupon is because Groupon is well known as one of the biggest e-commerce marketplaces. I had myself wondering how they do it and I found myself exploring what technologies they use in the workplace and discovered that I would be interested in learning about the work they do and hopefully contributing to it too.

WHAT DOES A TYPICAL DAY, IF SUCH A THING EXISTS, LOOK LIKE FOR YOU?

It depends, it varies on a day to day basis, but it usually involves a bit of coding and a few meetings. What I have been doing is mainly isolated to the front-end of the dashboard project that my team is working on.

During Geekon (Groupon’s internal hackathon) my team and I made a real time visualisation of Groupon deal purchases around the world. We have the visual up on the big screen by the entrance of our office and I would be lying if I said I don’t spend a solid amount of time gawking at it. Visualisation of statistical data is always awesome to see. Yes, coding can become cumbersome at times, stressful too on some days, but it is the little projects like Geekon that keep us software developers enticed and doing what we do best.

IS THE REALITY OF YOUR WORK HERE DIFFERENT IN ANY WAY TO WHAT YOU EXPECTED?

This is kind of hard question. To be honest, I did not know what to expect upon getting the internship to work here at Groupon! I have never worked in a company before, let alone a professional one. I guess I thought it would be a lot more intense, but it isn’t, which is great!

HAVE YOU LEARNED A LOT HERE?

Honestly yes, I have learned a lot here in the past month that I have been here. College works differently. It teaches students the underlying principles of computer science whereas working as an intern enables you to apply the knowledge you have learned in college and produce a service or product that meets community standards or demands.

I see college and this real life experience as just two different exploration routes. One takes you through an intense journey with all the ones and zeroes, whereas the other shows you how you can collaborate with others to create great products and services with the ones and zeroes you learned about in college.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE ABOUT WORKING HERE?

Well, there isn’t much to not like about here. It’s a nice office with nice people and a nice environment. On top of that, writing code that is guaranteed to be used is a huge bonus!

WOULD YOU RECOMMEND AN INTERNSHIP HERE?

Of course, and not just because of the technology that Groupon uses and how it may benefit you in future job opportunities, but I also think it’s very important to be able to build your professional persona too. From what I have seen here in the past month, the people, the environment, and the atmosphere on a day-to-day basis make building a respectable professional persona very easy.

FINALLY – ARE YOU ENJOYING YOURSELF?

Cinnte, gan amhras ar bith! That’s Irish for ‘Certainly, without a doubt!’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

