Snapshot: Focus On…Talent Acquisition – Paris

bastien groupon

•Bastien Dupuis•

Recruitment Manager, France

 Visitez la page Française ici!

I like the entrepreneurial aspect of my role …there are always fresh challenges.

HI BASTIEN!
SO YOU JOINED THE TALENT ACQUISITION TEAM AT GROUPON NOT SO LONG AGO – TELL US A BIT ABOUT WHAT YOU DO!

I joined Groupon in July 2015 where I help manage talent acquisition in France for sales, marketing, communications, finance and back office. The team consists of myself and my recruitment partner, Yann. As France is one of the main markets for Groupon in EMEA, and the business is growing rapidly, we are always on the lookout for great new talent. We mainly recruit buyers and planners for our consumer channels, but also in-house and field sales reps. Everyday is a busy day: to give you an idea between July and September alone we hired 27 new recruits!

WAS THIS YOUR FIRST RECRUITING JOB?

I worked in agency before coming to Groupon. After graduating I was offered an amazing opportunity to join one of the “Big 4” recruitment agencies in New York. While I was there my role was to recruit sales and marketing professionals for both US and international companies.

A year later I returned to France where I continued to work for the same company, however I missed the relaxed, enterprising culture of the New York office so I decided to make a change and go somewhere with a relaxed working environment that allowed you more creative freedom. I joined Groupon then and have never looked back!

WALK US THROUGH YOUR AVERAGE DAY – IF SUCH A THING EXISTS!

At the start of each day I like to prioritise my tasks according to the level of urgency and then catch up with my teammate to set out the agenda. I try to organise my day around the candidates’ work schedules which means I do most of my interviews during lunch time and after 6pm!

DO YOU ENJOY YOUR JOB?

I like the entrepreneurial aspect of my role at Groupon. The French recruitment team is well established but there are always fresh challenges. We are currently helping develop Groupon’s employer talent brand where our goal is to ensure that potential candidates know that Groupon is a great place to work with great opportunities. We are working closely with the Talent Acquisition and Communications departments on a number of initiatives to create awareness of Groupon as an employer of choice and the opportunities we have on offer.

I also love that as a recruiter you get to meet a huge amount of professionals from various industries and backgrounds. Be they passive or active candidates, they all possess a wealth of knowledge and by talking to them I learn a lot about our competitors and the market in general.

Lastly, I like the interactivity that my job allows. Once I have recruited a candidate I like to keep in touch with them and follow their progress. It’s a great way to build and maintain relationships with colleagues.

DO YOU FEEL YOU HAVE PROGRESSED IN YOUR CAREER? HOW DOES THAT FEEL?

I graduated from university in 2014 so I’m at the very beginning of my career, but already I feel like I am learning and progressing every day. At Groupon, I am constantly in touch with hiring managers and I learn a lot from them about the business and industry trends. In recruitment agencies you would have very little contact with hiring managers.

DO YOU FEEL THAT YOUR WORK IS HELPING GROUPON ACHIEVE ITS MISSION?

By recruiting top talent, I am certain that I am helping Groupon build a strong foundation and achieve its mission. I have a lot of responsibility on my shoulders!

WOULD YOU RECOMMEND WORKING AT GROUPON TO A FRIEND?

Yes, of course! Especially as we currently have a lot of open roles. Our teams are dynamic and fun and it’s cool to be able to come to work in jeans and t-shirts; our office is in La Défense (equivalent to Wall Street or The City) which is a very ‘corporate’ neighbourhood, so everyone else is generally in a grey suit!

AND FINALLY… GOT ANYTHING FUN OR QUIRKY TO TELL US ABOUT YOURSELF?

I always have my Paris-Saint-Germain flag with me – they’re my favourite team: I was born a fan! #zlatan

One thought on “Snapshot: Focus On…Talent Acquisition – Paris

Leave a Reply

