This Intern Life

Daniel Holleran

Daniel Holleran

Intern, EMEA Push Marketing Team

Hi Daniel – tell us a bit about what you do here at Groupon

I work on the EMEA Push Marketing Team, where I’m currently doing a six-month internship as a data analyst.  Basically, my job is to analyse how our subscribers are engaging with the emails we send and then report on this.  This can be split largely into two areas: improving reporting methods so that the regional managers know what is working, and investigative work like finding out why a certain group of subscribers may have changed their behaviour.  What this entails varies from  day to day, which is one of reasons I enjoy working at Groupon: you are always working on new and challenging projects.

What did you do before starting with us?

Before I started my internship, I had just finished my Higher Diploma in Data Analytics, and before that, I completed my undergraduate degree in Maths and Philosophy, so I didn’t really have much experience working in a professional environment.  I found the transition from university quite easy as the on-boarding process provided me with all the information I needed, and everyone is very helpful whenever I have any questions.

So, why Groupon?

What attracted me to Groupon was the possibility of working for a fast-growing international company that fosters a culture where people are passionate about their work, but they don’t take themselves too seriously!

What I would say to prospective interns is that you can really learn a lot here. You’ll probably find that the solutions to the problems you encounter are not as clear-cut as the ones you have worked on in university, but this is what makes working here interesting, as you have push yourself to think in new ways and you grow as a result.

Nice one Daniel – keep up the hard work!
Leave a Reply

